Mrs. Daphne chabu

The Office of the Permanent Secretary is responsible for directing and coordinating the execution of portfolio functions in respect of the activities, projects and programmes in the Ministry.

It is also responsible for the implementation of policies and supervision of functional heads in executing the Ministry’s functions.

In addition, the Office is responsible and accountable for the proper financial management and expenditure of public monies appropriated to the Ministry as well as accounting and managing human resources in the Ministry.

 The office further ensures effective linkages exist among and within the departments in order to

strengthen internal systems, improve co-ordination and communication for effective performance of the Ministry.

The Permanent Secretary is controlling officer, therefore, have the overall responsibility of institutionalizing Strategic Management in the Ministry.

The Office of the Permanent Secretary is supported by a Public Relations Office whose function is to manage the public relations in order to enhance the corporate image of the Ministry.

The office shall also be supported by the Legal Unit that is responsible for providing legal advice to the Ministry.

The Office shall comprise the following seven (7) Departments and three (3) Units:

  1. Lands Department
  2. Survey Department
  3.  Deeds Department
  4. Department of Planning and Information
  5. Department of Human Resources and Administration
  6. Department of Finance
  7. ICT Department
  8. Internal Audit
  9. Legal
  10. Procurement and Supplies

Contact Information for Office of the Permanent Secretary

Tel: (260) 211 251927


Postal Address

Office of the Permanent Secretary

Mulungushi House

Independence Avenue

P.O Box 50694, Ridgeway